Silence in the Library


Silence in the Library” is the name of the 8th episode of the 4th series of the revived Doctor Who. As good as that episode is – and it’s excellent – that is not what this post is about. I learned something yesterday. I learned to be silent during a very unprofessional episode that went on around me.

Being silent is not my first reaction to anything under normal circumstances. The old saw that “he who talks does not know, and he who does not talk, knows” certainly has applied to me more than once. In this case, though, I did remain silent. I’m better for that, and so is the situation. Now if I can just remember to be quiet from time to time.

About Terry Gardner

Terry Gardner was a leading directory services architect with experience with many large scale directory services installations and messaging server installations, and was a Subject Matter Expert in the field of Directory Services and Solaris (operating system) performance. Mr. Gardner also participated in the open-source software community. Mr. Gardner passed away in December, 2013.
This entry was posted in musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

